a long time

It’s been quite a while since I haven’t posted anything here. Firstly, I have had another thing which I aim to do, it really has more priority. I do hope after get that and have things settled, I will have more time for myself and time for the blog. Secondly, I had been cooking a lot during Xmas and NY. Too much that my boyfriend and friends had to comment when I could stop cooking. I successfully had time to do a lot of things during Xmas: bun bo Hue, bun cha ca Danang (which I hope to write a post soon), pho (beef noodle soup). I made roasted lamb and happily completed my first Buche de Noel. There was a day when we baked three cakes. I still have some cantuccini left to deep with marsala (since I can’t find Vin Santo in the Netherlands).

Coming back from China, I have to admit I’m very happy. The breakfast and lunch we had there was very good. There was fresh soy milk in the hotel every morning. I ate congee and had grilled sweet potato very often. Fruits were plenty, especially watermelon. However, dinner became too much. There was too much meat, and particularly when everything was stir-fried, everything was mushy with the use of tapioca starch. The last day, when we were at the best Peking duck restaurant in Beijing, I had to jump to the vegetarian table after seeing two plates of meat. A bowl of salad brought true happiness. I wanted to come back to Vietnam, what we eat there is a lot more with fresh vegetables and a lot less oily. It was so closed but still so far away. In the end, I was okay to come back to the Netherlands, eating bread for lunch, unlike the time when I came back to Holland from Italy, it felt like the meat and ham here are not real meat and ham. Everything that are Italian or Vietnamese are good. I was sick yesterday, thus I cooked congee with pangasius filet, flavored by Vietnamese mint. It was real joy to eat what I cooked.
Pho

A bowl of pho (beef noodle soup). Don’t use coriander or mint for this dish. The herbs to accompany are Thai basil and sawtooth coriander (or at least one out of the two). Using coriander is not the right way.

Buche de Noel (Yule log cake)

My first try with a roll, a Buche de Noel. The Xmas tree had matcha flavor.

Happy new year!

4 thoughts on “a long time

  1. Wow! You made a Buche de Noel for Christmas! That is really impressive :-) Good to see you back on the blogging front again. Most people don’t realise this but maintaining a blog takes a lot of time – it’s not just the writing and uploading, but also the cooking and eating!

    P.S. I have to admit to using coriander in my Pho. Sawtooth coriander is not always available where I live so coriander is a good substitute for me. Otherwise I use both! But I always have Thai basil with Pho – I think it is one of those essential herbs for this dish. I hope you will post a recipe for this :-)

  2. Yeah, I will try to post upon your request. :) I cook the popular dishes a lot but I don’t blog them since I think everyone can search for a popular recipe. But will do when I have time to keep the food authentic.
    For me, cooking and eating is easy, but uploading the photos and blogging takes some effort, especially when I’m working full-time, having my MBA part-time. But I will finish the study in a few months and hope to have more posts than I do now.

    • Oh thank you! I will try to post a recipe for Pho as well but, as you have mentioned, blogging takes a bit of time! I cook nearly everyday but I don’t always find the time to take photos, and because you can’t really blog without photos, a lot of dishes don’t end up on my blog.

      Wow, you must be really busy with a full-time job and also studying for an MBA. I envy your energy! Good luck with the remaining months and I look forward to more posts on your blog soon :-)

  3. Me too. Sometimes I take photos only and don’t even have time to transfer them to a laptop. But your photos and your posts recently are very nice. They look professional and elegant. :)

Leave a Reply

